The course of instruction for the LL.B., LL.M. and M.B.L. Degree Examinations shall be as laid down in the Statutes and Ordinances of the Kerala University. The three year LL.B. Course shall extend to a period of three academic years, consisting of 6 semesters and shall consist of 27 compulsory papers including practical training.

The LL.B. (Five Year) course shall extend to a period of five academic years consisting of 10 semesters and shall consist of eleven pre law subjects, 21 compulsory subjects, three optional subjects and a practical Training. The normal duration of LL.M. programme shall be four semesters. The duration of each semester shall be five months inclusive of examinations. Three shall be at least 90 instructional days in a semester and a minimum of 450 hours of instructions in a semester. A post graduate course leading to M.B.L. (Master of Business Law) was started in 1996. The duration of the course in two years with examination at the end of each year.

The number of students to be admitted shall not ordinarily exceed 100 in each semester for each batch of the LL.B. (Three year semester) Course unless specially authorized by the University. The sanctioned strength of each semester of the LL.B. (Five year) Course is 80.

All applications for admission shall be in the prescribed form, and shall be submitted so as to reach the Principal, not later than the date notified by the Principal at the beginning of each academic year.

Candidates seeking admission to the First semester of the three year LL.B. Course shall have passed any degree examination of the Kerala University, or any other examination recognized as equivalent thereto by the Kerala University, with not less than 45% marks in the aggregate in the qualifying examination.