The founding members of the Academy are Adv. Kalathil Velayudhan Nair, Adv. S. Easwara Iyer, Justice V. R. Krishna Iyer, Adv. K. Chandrasekharan, Justice P. Subramonian Potti, Adv. S. Narayanan Potti, Dr. N. Narayanan Nair, Adv. M. M. Abdul Khader and Justice V. Sivaraman Nair who joined together to form the Academy in 1966. The Society was registered on 17th October 1966 under the Travancore – Cochin Literacy Scientific and Charitable Societies Registration Act (XII of 1955). Adv. S. Narayanan Potti was the First President and Dr. N. Narayanan Nair, the first Secretary.The members of the first Executive Committee were the following.

  1. Adv. Kalathil Velayudhan Nair,
  2. Adv. S. Easwara Iyer,
  3. Justice V. R. Krishna Iyer,
  4. Adv. K. Chandrasekharan,
  5. Justice P. Subramonian Potti,
  6. Adv. S. Narayanan Potti (President)
  7. Dr. N. Narayanan Nair (Secretary).

The first Governing Council of the Academy included the following persons in addition to the members of the Executive Committee:

  1. Adv. M. M. Abdul Khader
  2. Mr. M. Prabhakaran
  3. Justice V. Sivaraman Nair
  4. Mr. M. M. Cheriyan