Kerala Law Academy

About us


  1. Justice P. Govinda Menon:

    Justice P. Govinda Menon was the first Principal of the Academy and he was Principal from 1967 to 1969, after which he became the Director of the Academy. He was former judge of the High Court of Kerala.Read more >>

  2. Dr. N. Narayanan Nair:

    Dr. N. Narayanan Nair was the Principal of the Academy from 1969 to 1988. Read more >>

  3. Professor M. Krishnan Nair:

    Professor M. Krishnan Nair was Principal of the Academy from 1988 to 1995. He was a law teacher of great repute. He had earlier served as the Principal of Government Law Colleges at Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam and Calicut. He has authored several commentaries and his books on Family Law and Torts are famous. He has served as member of Board of Examinations, Academic Council and Board of Studies and Faculty Board of several Universities. He is the son-in-law of Professor P.S. Achuten Pillai, the renowned jurist and former Principal of Government Law College, Thiruvananthapuram.

  4. Professor B. Dharmarajan:

    Professor B. Dharmarajan was the Principal of the Academy from 1995 to 1998. Read more >>

  5. Professor S. Somesekharan Nair:

    Professor S. Somesekaharan Nair was Principal of the Academy from 1993 to 2008. He was member of the teaching faculty of the Academy right from its inception in 1967. Before joining the Academy, he was lecturer at the Law College, Hubly and then at the Dharvar University, Dharvar, Karnataka. He is an expert in constitutional law. As a law teacher, he was in the classic mould. His lectures in Constitutional Law have been recognized as truly classical and his interpretations of the principles of the constitutional law were mind captivating and he was a jurist in all its senses. As the Principal of the Academy, he was a truly inspirational leader. Presently he is visiting Professor of the Academy.Read more >>