Kerala Law Academy

About us




The 15th National Client Consulting competition for Justice P. Govinda Menon Ever Rolling Trophy conducted by the Kerala Law Academy Moot Court Society was held from 6th to 8th of November 2014 at Kerala Law Academy Law College, Thiruvananthapuram. Teams representing various law schools/ colleges and universities participated in the competition. The competition is being held annually to commemorate the memory of late Justice. P. Govinda Menon who was a former Judge of High Court of Kerala and the first principal of the Kerala Law Academy Law College.

On 6th evening, the competition was inaugurated by Dr. Rose Varghese, Vice chancellor, NUALS, Kochi. The function was presided over by  Shri. Sunil Thomas, hon’ble Principal District and Sessions Judge ,Thiruvananthapuram. Dr. Saroja. A.S, Principal. Govt. Law College, Thiruvananthapuram delivered the keynote address. Shri. S.V. Premkumaran Nair, President,   Thiruvananthapuram Bar Association, felicitated the occasion.

After that, the participants were introduced, briefing was conducted and lots were also taken. On 7th November, the preliminary rounds of the competition commenced at sharp 8.00am.The panel of judges included Judicial Officers, advocates of Thiruvananthapuram Bar, Psychiatrists, Psychologists and Lecturers of reputed law schools.

By about 1.00pm, preliminary rounds were over. From 2.00pm onwards quarter finals started. At around 4.00pm, the quarter finals were over. Shri. Nagaraj Narayanan, Chairman, Moot Court Society announced the results. Out of the 21 teams participated, 8 teams were selected for the quarter finals. The quarter final rounds were held on the afternoon of 8th November.4 teams were selected for semi finals

In the valedictory function that followed Advocate Nagaraj Narayanan, Chairman, Kerala Law Academy Moot Court Society welcomed the guests. Shri C.C. Thomas, Senior Advocate, High Court of Kerala gave the valedictory address. The function was presided over by Shri.K.G. Balasubramanian, Advocate, High Court of Kerala . Shri . R. Sudheer Ganesh Kumar , Advocate , High Court of Kerala offered Special Address and after much awaited moments Shri C.C. Thomas disclosed the results. National Law School of India University, Bangalore was announced as winners and Symbiosis Law School, Pune were the runners-up. Thereafter, prizes were distributed to participants. After that Sreehari I Student Convener of Moot court society offered the vote of thanks.